Measured Extravagance

11 December 2003 - 9:19 a.m.

Growling at typos, plotting for parties (an onion tart and deviled eggs ahead), hunting for my high G, rejoicing in acceptances (one of them even mine), savoring unsolicited compliments, and cursing bank errors (just got charged a returned check fee for a deposit from someone we've never heard of who didn't have sufficient funds. It'll get straightened out, of course, but first I have to renew the three books I'd been hoping to read by tomorrow. . .).

Still fussing with the design of my holiday card, too, which means I haven't set the print run yet, which means you have time to drop me a note with your address if you'd like to be on the list. Condition: I do expect a card in return. It doesn't have to be a greeting card if you don't have any handy - notecards featuring Virginia Woolf or bassoons or a sheet of paper with your favorite poem printed on it. . .. Alternatively, I could be your excuse to splurge on that nifty Hanukkah card you'd buy if only you could think of someone to buy it for. *grin*

I might even take cookies.

(I'm kidding, although I think I do hear a brownie calling my name. . .).

(I adore mail, but I don't have that much circulating right now. With the holidays, I haven't the time or focus to tug the stuff in my pending folder up another notch, hence this shamelessly resorting to other means of feeding my mailbox.)

[12:01 AM - Of course no sooner do I write than I spend most of the morning fussing with submissions. Perversity, thou knowst thy acolytes. . .but the bank and the library and a very annoying tilde have also been dealt with as well. Go me!]

(And to those of you who've already sent greetings - thank you!)

Also, does anyone have a spare LJ code they wouldn't mind beaming my way? (I've no plans to move this journal, but there's now enough of you keeping LJs that I'd like to de-complicate commenting.)

[11:52 a.m. - Ged fired one my way right away. Thanks, sweetie!]

Speaking of complicated (not to mention flat-out wrong):

theory slut
You are a Theory Slut. The true elite of the
postmodernists, you collect avant-garde
Indonesian hiphop compilations and eat journal
articles for breakfast. You positively live
for theory. It really doesn't matter what
kind, as long as the words are big and the
paragraph breaks few and far between.



What kind of postmodernist are you!?
brought to you by Quizilla

One year ago: " Of course, the solution to terror is to practice . . ." Ah, so that's where that high G is hiding.

<< | >>
My book!

then
now


email

@zirconium

Copyright 2000-2016 by mechaieh / pld. This blog has migrated to zirconium.dreamwidth.org.

Hosted by DiaryLand.