Measured Extravagance

27 April 2002 - 5:33 p.m.

It's also interesting me gauging my reactions given that Ross and I come from completely different places where writing and career concerned. She apparently always knew (thanks to her sister Helen) that she always wanted to be a writing correspondent, and she definitely possesses the devil-with-it confidence I think to be essential to the kind of reporting she has been renowned for. So I can understand why she would say what she said in response to Janny Scott's inquiry:

Asked in the interview whether she had thought about the book's impact upon Mrs. Shawn, now in her 90s, Miss Ross spoke slowly, as though taking pains to make herself understood: "That isn't the way one thinks when one is a writer. You don't think about what the impact is going to be on other people. You think about what you're writing."

I've heard this from other writers, including poets. I don't agree with it. [more in the next entry]

<< | >>
My book!

then
now


email

@zirconium

Copyright 2000-2016 by mechaieh / pld. This blog has migrated to zirconium.dreamwidth.org.

Hosted by DiaryLand.