Measured Extravagance

2001-01-16 - 7:56 a.m.

[The links to Sempronia's earlier entry failing to cooperate at present, Mechaieh decides a new post is in order...]

In a recent entry, The Mercurial One demanded: "If you had to make a soundtrack for your life, what would be on it? You can choose 10 songs and those 10 songs should summarize your daily existance. A song will be playing for you 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. So pick well, grasshopper."

For mechaieh: the movie, part one the playlist probably would have included the Smiths, the Smithereens, Depeche Mode, Madonna, Peter Gabriel, Feargal Sharkey, the Cars, and who knows what else. (To finish the list, I'd have to go hunt down the my old mix tapes, which I can't afford to do with houseguests on the horizon - I'd just end up playing the tapes instead of taking the broom to the dust bunnies.)

I feel compelled to stress that this is a soundtrack and not a "best of." I still love "Blood and Roses" but am I ever glad it's no longer my theme song.

Anyway, that was then. This is part two:

"I Drove All Night" - Cyndi Lauper

"Spirit Voices" - Paul Simon

"These Important Years" - H�sker D�

If you don't stop to smell the roses now
They might end up on you

"Good Beat" - Deee-Lite

depending on how you see a thing
the ship is free or it is sinking

"All That You Are" - Margo Hennebach

"Little Plastic Castle" - Ani DiFranco

"Passionate Kisses" - Mary Chapin Carpenter

"As Cool As I Am" - Dar Williams

"This World Is Not My Home" - His Name Is Alive

"The Air That I Breathe" - k.d. lang

<< | >>
My book!

then
now


email

@zirconium

Copyright 2000-2016 by mechaieh / pld. This blog has migrated to zirconium.dreamwidth.org.

Hosted by DiaryLand.