Measured Extravagance

25 February 2003 - 1:11 a.m.

Overheard at church:

"G___ likes to play devil's advocate."
G___: "You can leave 'advocate' out of it."


2,517 = final word count for the three nonfiction pieces I finished up and sent out this afternoon (an anthology submission). I also critiqued a friend's short story, and I'm hoping to draft a new handful of poems by the end of the week, but the "have to" list is bearing down on me with its end-of-the-month bulk, so I may have to content myself with quasi-conscious stewing. (The fact that it is the last week of the month feels more surprising than it should: after all, it's not as if I didn't know it was coming.)

Saturday night, the Beautiful Young Man and I attended a community theater production of Arsenic and Old Lace. It was well-cast and the set was splendidly detailed. Better yet, our tickets were comped - the theater liked a monologue I'd written on the BYM's motorcycle habit, so I donned my leather jacket and miniskirt and performed it before the show.

They also had an amusing audience participation gambit: before the start of each act, the stage manager held up a sheet of paper with a phrase to be spoken during that act. The audience was ordered to cheer loudly upon hearing the phrase. The actors had been informed about the gimmick but kept in the dark about the selected lines. It wouldn't have worked for a serious play or even a differently-paced production, of course, but Arsenic is such a daffy show to begin with that, when the audience cheerfully broke into whoopin' and hollerin' for "Mayor LaGuardia," I found it kinda cute.

Sunday evening, Daisy and I went to Fleming's Steakhouse. It was a last-minute choice, but it turns out a vegetarian can eat quite well there - the spinach salad she'd ordered came with bacon on top, but she was happy to swap it for my tomato and mozzarella plate. For dinner, they prepared a beautiful plate of broiled and sauteed vegetables - tomatoes, asparagus, mushrooms, and green beans. We each had some bread and a glass of wine (Camelot pinot noir and merlot) and I had potatoes baked with cream, jalapenos and cheddar as my other dish. It was a nice prelude to the Collegium Vocale concert at Cathedral - Byrd, Lassus, Palestrina, and Gombert. Oh, for more time, to listen more closely, to listen more deeply. . .o beauty ever ancient, ever new. . .


One year ago: "...it relisheth the heart..."

<< | >>
My book!

then
now


email

@zirconium

Copyright 2000-2016 by mechaieh / pld. This blog has migrated to zirconium.dreamwidth.org.

Hosted by DiaryLand.