Measured Extravagance

2 April 2004 - 12:22 a.m.

"In order to be closer to God, I dug out my Crayola markers and a razor, but the cat won't come out from under the bed."

And then there's PNH himself over at the engrossing Making Light discussion on Richard Clarke's testimony (which also includes a spectacular holding forth by one Terry Karney):

Remember, the point isn't to build the new Jerusalem, crusade for utopia, or establish a libertarian paradise. The point is to get rid of these bastards and re-establish normal American politics, with all the usual compromises, dissemblings, backroom deals, and other moral misdemeanors that implies. All of which is one hell of an improvement on the rule of unfettered Might Makes Right, which is what we're on our way to right now.


Here at home, the cat is sitting on the file next to me. Lettered a menu, worked on an invitation design, scolded the dog (she snatched some chicken from a pan on top of the stove). . . Read some Thoreau last night that I might quote here once the weather warms up again (last week, sundresses; this week, wool overcoats. Sigh).


Received the latest MPM newsletter in today's mail. As it happens, two years ago I quoted from The Golden One, wherein Amelia recorded: '"Really," I said in exasperation, "I cannot decide which of this evening's outlandish activities to discuss first."'

<< | >>
My book!

then
now


email

@zirconium

Copyright 2000-2016 by mechaieh / pld. This blog has migrated to zirconium.dreamwidth.org.

Hosted by DiaryLand.