Measured Extravagance

2001-05-13 - 9:51 p.m.

Flower Communion today: I brought two stalks of bluebells from my mother-in-law's garden to services, and came home with a fragrant, full-blown pink rose that's resting right at nose level whenever I pass by my kitchen counter.

From Norbert F. Capek's "Consecration of the Flowers":

Infinite Spirit of Life, we ask thy blessing on these thy messengers of fellowship and love...

May we not let awareness of another's talents discourage us, or sully our relationship, but may we realize that whatever we can do, great or small, the efforts of all of us are needed to do thy work in this world.

Also beautiful: the birdsongs and the sunlight coming through the windows of the sanctuary as the bell was rung and the chalice lit. The candle a member dedicated to Douglas Adams. The quintet that sang Ysaye M. Barnwell's No Windows In My Nana's House.

<< | >>
My book!

then
now


email

@zirconium

Copyright 2000-2016 by mechaieh / pld. This blog has migrated to zirconium.dreamwidth.org.

Hosted by DiaryLand.