Measured Extravagance

24 June 2002 - 3:49 p.m.

Weekend scorecard: sweltered through the rally, ran the 3PP meeting, and skipped workout and church. (Something�s pinched in my right shoulder so it looks like I�ll be missing class for the next couple of days anyway.) Blew off much of my list in favor of sleeping and socializing: dinner with friends at Woodland House Friday night (trout with crabmeat and horseradish sauce); brunch with the BYM both Saturday and Sunday mornings (note to self: the watermelon sorbet tastes like bubble gum. Not recommended); and a cookout Saturday evening at a photographer�s house, where I got to ride on a manic-looking wooden rocking horse, downed some really excellent spoon bread, and was informed by a neighbor that my pesto really is the best she�s ever had. Brunch this morning was especially nice � we went back to Woodland House, where the BYM observed that the serving of French toast was less �pretty� than the one he received yesterday at The Other Place We Tried Brunch but better-tasting; I had a superb spinach-onion-cheese-mushroom omelette with fruit and bacon and potatoes; all washed down with mimosas.

Plus quite a bit of writing, a bit of reading (Robertson Davies � quotes to come), and some much-needed napping.


One year ago: I will concede that the garlic soup I made for myself during a bad bout of flu some years ago would have scared off many a lesser man.�

<< | >>
My book!

then
now


email

@zirconium

Copyright 2000-2016 by mechaieh / pld. This blog has migrated to zirconium.dreamwidth.org.

Hosted by DiaryLand.