Measured Extravagance

2000-10-20 - 8:46 a.m.

I'm mildly notorious amongst my acquaintances for unusual meals: for instance, I'm currently breaking fast on a pepperoni hot pocket and ginger ale, and yesterday my boss stared in horrified fascination at the lunch course currently on my desk, which was a raw green pepper and a tin of smoked oysters. It's not like I'm _trying_ to be unusual or revolting - it's simply that I'm a chronic grazer, I try to eat a balanced diet while sating my cravings (hence the pepper _and_ the oysters, which were later followed by a salad, an apple, and a pear, whereas I started off this morning with a bourbon ball), and I'm an improviser from my student/bookselling days, plus my mother was never limited by continental notions of what constituted a proper breakfast as long as both starch and protein fed both body and brain...

...well, I guess the reasons aren't "simple" after all, but anyway, I've gotten used to my husband giving me incredulous looks during my munchings and crunchings. However, I improvised a stuffed pepper recipe earlier this week which he consumed without any dubious looks (other than poking at the grains inquisitively and asking if they were fish eggs), so I thought it worth preserving here. All measurements are very rough guesstimates - I cook by sight and taste and how-much-of-the-ingredient-is-really-in-the-fridge:

Take 3/4 package of Louis Kemp imitation crabmeat.

Mix it with two heaping tablespoons of mayonnaise, a teaspoon of mustard, a 1/4 cup of minced onion, 1 cup of cooked millet. Add ground black pepper to taste.

Halve and seed a pepper. Stuff with seafood mixture. Serve.

Save leftover seafood mixture in a container for lunch the next day.

<< | >>
My book!

then
now


email

@zirconium

Copyright 2000-2016 by mechaieh / pld. This blog has migrated to zirconium.dreamwidth.org.

Hosted by DiaryLand.