Measured Extravagance

23 May 2002 - 11:38 p.m.

The Frist is open late on Thursdays, so tonight the BYM and I loped around looking at the Postmodern Art exhibit. The pieces that stayed with me? Susan Rothenberg's _1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6_ (six tall panels of impressionistically rendered dancers) and Kiki Smith's _Identical Twins_ (aluminum castings of the hands of a pair) - and the Education Room, where there were more castings of children's hands and feet, in pinks and blues and greens and reds and other colors, and below each model a sentence by each kid on their selections: "I play the viola." "I like to run." "I like [runners's name], so I did my foot too." "We're best friends" - two hands joined together. So, so cool.

And upstairs, Indian miniatures, from the seventeenth century and environs - I'm going to have to go back, to take more in, but for now - what stole my breath? The delicate and precise rendition of sheer fabric - veils, wraps, surcoats - flickers of black hairlines and white paint conveying the buoyancy of silk and air across the centuries. Wow.

(Lately I seem to be enamored of this ability to convey translucence - the water in the bath of Alma-Tadema's A Favourite Custom has me mesmerized as well...)


One year ago: "There's something very satisfying about teaching a Yiddish word to a self-professed Kentucky redneck."

<< | >>
My book!

then
now


email

@zirconium

Copyright 2000-2016 by mechaieh / pld. This blog has migrated to zirconium.dreamwidth.org.

Hosted by DiaryLand.