Measured Extravagance

2001-08-01 - 1:04 a.m.

Law, y'all, but it was hot today. My glasses steamed over every time I climbed into the car, and my legs were slick with sweat by the time I picked up the BYM.

Still, it's also during the height of summer that I can best wear this short sleeveless black dress that shows off my legs. In tandem with a fresh haircut, it makes me feel so right damn fine stridin' down the street. I was going to stir-fry squid and broccoli tonight, but the BYM said, "You look nice. I look respectable. I got my bonus check today and I want to go out," so we went down to Sasso. Him: a glass of Bonny Doon Pacific Rim chardonnay; house salad with mango-shallot dressing; half a chicken with soy glaze, vegetables and rice; a cappuccino and a chocolate pine-nut tart. Me: a glass of montepulciano; a bowl of roasted tomato soup with fennel and saffron; a spinach salad with pine nuts, smoked salmon and bleu cheese vinaigrette; a cup of black decaf; a martini glass filled with honey gelato, (pretty but flavorless) peach slices and fresh blueberries.

Also a pleasure: lumbering through downtown, windows rolled down, blaring Handel on the tape deck. San Francisco Opera is reportedly importing a production of Alcina in 2004-5; I am so there...


i would like
to take that CAUTION ribbon
and wrap it around my neck

    - Douglas A. Martin, in the haiku year

You will experience changes for the better. - The fortune inside each of the first three or four cookies I pulled out of the Umeya box.

There are no fortunes to be told, although
Because I love you more than I can say,
If I could tell you, I would let you know.

    -W.H. Auden

Underneath your breath
pulse maps and constellations.
Please - your lips, my hands.

    - pld

<< | >>
My book!

then
now


email

@zirconium

Copyright 2000-2016 by mechaieh / pld. This blog has migrated to zirconium.dreamwidth.org.

Hosted by DiaryLand.